Early Childhood

The Early Childhood program is comprised of overlapping classrooms from Pre-K through Grade 1 to ensure that the social and academic needs of each student are met. Stability and security are provided in a nurturing environment to support positive behaviors.


Helping children to acquire the social skills they will need to be successful in a classroom environment is the main goal at this level. A thematic approach is used in an interactive learning environment to integrate the eight domains of the Rhode Island Early Learning Standards:

  • Social and Emotional Development
  • Language Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Physical Health and Motor Development
  • Cognitive Development
  • Social Studies
  • Creative Arts

Kindergarten, First Grade

The K-1 curriculum emphasizes listening and speaking skills while broadening students’ learning experiences and offering opportunities to apply positive coping strategies and self-regulation skills. Educational technology is an integral part of the curriculum. Content areas include:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Math
  • Social studies
  • Science